The Olu of Warri Kingdom, His Majesty, Ogiame Atuwatse III reaffirmed the first batch of his Ojoyes at Ode-Itsekiri. The Olu who had gone to Ode-Itsekiri for the event was received with dancing and jubilation by Itsekiris and friends to the Ojoyes who had come for the reaffirmation of their Traditional Chieftaincy titles by the Olu of Warri. This followed the earlier dissolution of all traditional councils and committees by Ogiame Atuwatse III.
The event commenced with the rendering of prayer which was followed by the singing of the Itsekiri National Anthem. The first Ojoye to be reconfirmed was Chief Johnson Amatserunleghe who retains his title as the Iyatsere of Warri Kingdom. He was followed by Chief Gabriel Awala (Uwangue of Warri Kingdom) who crowned the Ogiame Atuwatse III on the 21st of August 2021.
  • Chief Johnson Amatserunleghe being reaffirmed by Ogiame Atuwatse III as the Iyatsere of Warri Kingdom
Photo Credit: Wale Nice
Following this event, the underlisted Ojoyes have now reconfirmed their titles with Ogiame Atuwatse III.
S/No Name Title Appellation
1 Chief Johnson Amatserunleghe The lyatsere of Warri Uji
2 Chief Gabriel Awala The Uwangue of Warri Orieku
3 Chief Kofi Kartey The Abolujiyan of Warri Ebirenegbo
4 Chief Brown Mene The Ogwaolusan of Warri Esemuede
5 Chief (Dr.) Roland. I. Oritsejafor The Ogwa of Warri Uwa-Eye
6 Chief (Dr.) C. D. Ikomi The Ero of Warri Kingdom Aleogua
7 Chief (Madam) Roli O. Oritsejafor The lyelomaete of Warri Ogbodu – lyawa
8 Chief Billy Besigiwa The Osolo of Warri Ogboge – Nijebu
9 Chief Eddy Eyitemi Olley The Agbarame (Ofone) of Warri Kingdom Eni
10 Chief Omolubi Newuwumi The Oma Tamudenyin of Warri Kingdom Egindeghere Ugbo
11 Chief Clement Akpeto Maleghemi The Udefi of Warri Kingdom Udefi Obaloye
12 Chief Solomon Arenyeka The Eson of Warri Kimgdom Otueje
13 Chief (Barr.) Robinson Ariyo The Egogo of Warri Kingdom Arayuwa
14 Chief (Dr.) Eugene Ikomi (JP) The Olulaye of Warri Kingdom Oghorolu